Arfeuilles puzzle piece 3

The Commune of Arfeuilles - Official Website

Click to go to Google map or Weather, below.

Situated in the foothills of the Monts de la Madeleine, half-way between the towns of Roanne and Vichy, Arfeuilles is an upland commune covering nearly 60 km². To the north, the countryside descends gradually towards the plains around the town of Lapalisse.
To the south, Arfeuilles is bordered by the slopes of Roanne on the east, and on the west by the Monts du Forez.

Not far away, in the commune of Saint Nicolas des Biefs at a height of 1000m, is the source of a small stream, the Barbenan. This stream is joined on its way northwards by other mountain streams and, a dozen kilometres later, the River Barbenan flows through the village of Arfeuilles itself. The Barbenan joins the Besbre, a tributary of the Loire, at Ebreuil.

The “Bourg” - Village of Arfeuilles:

Lat: 46.1568
Lon:  3.7266

46 degrees, 9.4 minutes north
3 degrees, 43.6 minutes east

Height of the village: 423 metres
Altitudes across the commune vary between 393m and 792m - a difference of 400m. This is the greatest height difference in a single commune in the whole of the Auvergne Region.

The commune of Arfeuilles is the fourth largest in terms of area (5955 hectares) in the Department of Allier, and covers a large section of the western slopes of the Monts de la Madeleine, in the heart of the Montagne Bourbonnaise. It shares borders with a number of other communes : Châtelus and Saint Pierre Laval to the north, Le Breuil to the west, Saint Nicolas des Biefs and Saint Bonnet des Quarts to the east, and Châtel-Montagne to the south.

To the right: Google map of geographical location (use vertical bar on left to zoom in)

back to top


Arfeuilles vue du ciel Arfeuilles vue du ciel Arfeuilles vue du ciel Arfeuilles vue du ciel

top of page

Photos: Jean-Pierre François

site Web:   www.small-world-websites.com

Arfeuilles puzzle piece 3

Site officiel de la Commune d'Arfeuilles

Cliquer pour Carte Google ou la Météo, ci-dessous.

Derniers contreforts des Monts de la Madeleine, Arfeuilles est une petite commune de moyenne montagne qui s’étend sur près de 60 km² à égale distance entre Roanne et de Vichy. Au nord l’altitude s’abaisse en direction des plaines vers Lapalisse.
Au sud elle est bordée par la côte Roannaise du côté est et du côté ouest par les Monts du Forez. Au sud, à 1000m d’altitude sur la commune de Saint Nicolas des Biefs prend naissance un ruisseau, le Barbenan, qui devient une dizaine de kilomètres plus loin, avec l’apport de ruisseaux des collines voisines, la rivière qui traverse le bourg d’Arfeuilles. Le Barbenan rejoint la Besbre, un affluent de la Loire, à Ebreuil.

Le village d'Arfeuilles:

Lat: 46.1568
Lon:  3.7266

46 degrés, 9,4 minutes nord
3 degrés, 43,6 minutes est

Altitude du Bourg: 423 mètres
Altitude variant de 393m à 792m - dénivelée de 400m. C’est le plus important dénivelée d’Auvergne sur une seule commune.

La commune d’Arfeuilles est la quatrième du département en superficie (5955 ha), et couvre une partie du versant occidental des Monts de la Madeleine, au coeur de la Montagne Bourbonnaise. Elle est mitoyenne de nombreuses autres communes : Châtelus et Saint-Pierre Laval au nord, Le Breuil à l’ouest, Saint-Nicolas des Biefs et Saint-Bonnet des Quarts à l’est, et Châtel-Montagne au sud.

Ci-contre carte Google de la situation géographique (utiliser la barre verticale à gauche pour faire un zoom)

haut de page


Arfeuilles vue du ciel Arfeuilles vue du ciel Arfeuilles vue du ciel Arfeuilles vue du ciel

haut de page

Accueil |  Histoire |  Situation |  Hébergement |  Tourisme |  Commune |  Associations |  Découverte |

Photos: Jean-Pierre François

site Web:   www.small-world-websites.com